WARNING: Be Careful when Changing you PSN ID
Have you had a change in identity in the past few years? We’re obviously talking about your gaming identity here. Changing your name online has never been an issue. Some of us have outdated novelty-nicknames we created on a whim which kind of stuck, while some of us made a nickname in a much simpler time. Some platforms won’t hold you to it, you can change your online identity whenever, but Sony takes your chosen name very seriously. Like you name in real-life, Sony PlayStation ties your chosen identity to every single digital purchase (games included).
Luckily, this is changing soon. The next big PlayStation update will allow users to change their PSN name. In fact, the change is entering beta soon and Sony have already sent invites to UK Gamers according to The PlayStation Brahs. However, the beta comes with a frightening warning for users.
Important Information Before Changing your Online ID:
Not all games and applications for PS4™, PS3™, PS Vita, and other PlayStation® systems support the Online ID change feature. If you change your Online ID:
• You may lose access to content (including paid-for content) that you have acquired for your games, including content like add-ons and virtual currency.
• You may lose your progress within games, including game saved data, leaderboard data and progress toward trophies.
• Parts of your games and applications might not function properly, both online and offline.
• Your previous Online ID(s) may remain visible to you and other players in some places
Losing progress, that’s okay, you can enjoy your favourite game again. Losing currency? No! Losing add-ons? No, please! Leaderboards? Come on, now. And, worse of all, you could lose entire digital purchases as stated above.
You’ve been warned.